The men’s football World Cup 2030 to be staged across three continents and six countries

In a first, six countries, Argentina, Morocco, Paraguay, Portugal, Spain and Uruguay, spread across three continents – Europe, Africa and South America will be hosting the FIFA World Cup 2030.

Initially, Morocco, Portugal and Spain won the race to host the tourney but Uruguay, Argentina and Paraguay were handed the opening three matches. FIFA boss Gianni Infantino further added that the opening match itself will be played at the Estádio Centenário in Montevideo, Uruguay, the same venue as the first World Cup in 1930.

KnowALLedge Plus:

>The 2022 World Cup in Qatar was the last in which 32 teams played. The tournament is expanding to 48 teams from the 2026 edition. Hence the 2030 World Cup will see 48 teams and 104 matches across three continents. All six host nations will automatically qualify.

>FIFA has a policy of rotating World Cups between confederations. In 2022 it was AFC’s turn, and CONCACAF (North America) will host the 2026 edition, having last hosted in 1994. Hence Europe/Africa’s UEFA/CAF bid was the favourite for 2030. South America’s CONMEBOL, which last hosted the 2014 edition, was also looking to commemorate the centenary of the 1930 World Cup. Such circumstances made this unique combination possible in the first place.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Search in all quizzes > Live