Sweden becomes 32nd NATO member

Sweden became the latest country to join the North Atlantic Treaty Organization (NATO), ten months after neighbour Finland joined the military alliance. As of February 2024, NATO has 32 member nations.

Political parties in both the Nordic countries decided in the face of Russia’s aggresion, they needed the security guarantees that only come with full membership in the alliance, led by USA.

KnowALLedge Plus:

>With the aim to block expansion of the former USSR, NATO was formed in 1949 by 12 countries: Belgium, Canada, Denmark, France, Iceland, Italy, Luxembourg, the Netherlands, Norway, Portugal, the United Kingdom and the United States.

>An armed attack against one or more of them is considered an attack against them all. The countries must uphold democracy and strive towards market economy.

>When Iceland signed the Treaty in 1949, it did not have – and still does not have – armed forces. However, Iceland has a Coast Guard, national police forces, an air defence system and a voluntary expeditionary peacekeeping force.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Search in all quizzes > Live